Title Bar
How do you know where you are going, if you do not know where you have come from?

LINKS

The following provides links to other web pages that might be of interest to the members of the Society. If you have a web site that you think would be appropriate for listing here, send the URL to h...@gmx.net.

Feel free to include a link to this site in your web page. We are not trying to be comprehensive but rather to list sites that are mainly of local interest or that would be of interest to our members.

If you find errors or broken links, please inform the webmaster at address below:

Carp LibraryDisplay of Huntley Maps at a meeting


Genealogical Links

GENERAL SITES

By far the best place to start your genealogical research is to take the free course from www.futurelearn.com https://www.futurelearn.com


If you would just like to know what genealogy and family history (not the same thing) are all about, read the next three articles.

Genealogy is about your ancestrs, who they were and when they were born, married and died. Family History is about what they did and how they lived.
Getting started in genealogy/family history https://www.homeadvisor.com/article.show.History-at-Home-A-Guide-to-Genealogy.17370.html
Getting Started With Genealogy on the Web https://www.vodien.com/blog/education/getting-started-genealogy-web.php
Ultimate Beginners Guide to Genealogy https://www.smarterhobby.com/genealogy/#tab-con-2
Genealogy: The Complete Resource Guide (to USA information) http://backgroundchecks.org/public-records/the-genealogy-resource-guide#Getting_Started
Genealogy In Time (latest web postings of data http://www.genealogyintime.com/
Huntly, Aberdeenshire, Scotland http://www.huntly.net/
General Genealogy http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~websites/
Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites https://www.CyndisList.com/
National Institute for Genealogical Studies http://www.genealogicalstudies.com/
1881 distribution of family names http://www.publicprofiler.org/
Society of Genealogist (British) http://www.sog.org.uk/
Federation of Family History Societies http://www.ffhs.org.uk/ezine/intro.php
International Genealogical Index https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/igi
Genealogical Links in the UK http://www.genealogy-links.co.uk/index.html/
Scotland's People (Census, Parish Records, etc. httpS://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
People Finder https://www.peoplefinders.com/people-search-tips
Automated Genealogy http://automatedgenealogy.com
US Citizenship - useful sites https://www.uscitizenship.info/trace-your-family-roots-from-immigration-us-citizenship-genealogy-guide/index.html

CENSUSES (or Censii?)

Census Finder (Ontario Census Records) http://www.censusfinder.com/ontario-canada-census-records.htm
British Census finder http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/census-records/
1911 Irish Census (Dublin) online http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/

CEMETERY LISTINGS

Christ Church (Anglican http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~snaylor/OntGraMk/Ottawa/Huntley/ChristHu/CHRISTHU.HTM
St Andrews (Presbyterian) http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~snaylor/OntGraMk/Ottawa/Huntley/CarpPres/CARPPRES.HTM
Cemetery Records Online http://www.interment.net/Default.htm
North Bay and surrounding area cemeteries    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~murrayp/
Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid.
http://ocfa.islandnet.com/
Canadian headstone Photo Project https://www.canadianheadstones.com/

PERSONAL PAGES

Ottawa Valley Irish      http://www.ottawavalleyirish.com/

ARCHIVES

Library and Archives Canada http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/Pages/home.aspx
BC Archives - Home Page https://royalbcmuseum.bc.ca/bc-archives/info/about-bc-archives
Arnprior and District Archives http://www.adarchives.org/
City of Ottawa Archives https://ottawa.ca/en/residents/arts-heritage-and-culture/city-ottawa-archives/archives
Friends of the City of Ottawa Archives http://www.fcoa-aavo.ca/node
Canada Map Archives http://www.nrcan.gc.ca/earth-sciences/geography/atlas-canada
British National Archives http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
National Archives of Scotland http://webarchive.nrscotland.gov.uk/20170106021747/http://www.nas.gov.uk/
National Archives of Ireland http://www.nationalarchives.ie/
Public Records Office of Northern Ireland https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/proni
Library and Archives of the Province of Quebec      http://www.banq.qc.ca/accueil/index.html

DNA (related to those of Irish descent

The Irish DNA Atlas: Revealing Fine-Scale Population Structure and History within Ireland https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-017-17124-4.pdf?error=cookies_not_supported&code=bd3a8beb-e721-4c79-8941-e242923b6d77

Historical Societies

OTTAWA AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETIES

ArchaeoExpeditions, Cultural Expeditions MEC Canada Inc. www.archaeoexpeditions.com
Archives Lanark http://archiveslanark.ca/index.php/
British Family History Society of Greater Ottawa https://bifhsgo.ca/
Bytown Museum http://www.bytownmuseum.com
Carleton County GenWeb http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~oncarlet/index.html
Carp Fair carpfair.ca
Champlain: Travels in the Canadian Francophonie http://champlain.rpfo.ca/
City of Ottawa http://ottawa.ca
Council of Heritage Organizations in Ottawa https://www.choocopo.ca
Cumberland Township Historical Society http://www.cths.ca
Diefenbunker - Canada's Cold War Museum http://www.diefenbunker.ca
Goulbourn Township Historical Society http://goulbournhistoricalsociety.org
Goulbourn Museum http://goulbournmuseum.ca/
Haunted Walks of Ottawa https://hauntedwalk.com/ottawa-tours/
Heritage Ottawa https://heritageottawa.org
Historical Society of Ottawa http://hsottawa.ncf.ca/
Lanark County Museums Network https://www.facebook.com/LanarkCountyMuseums/
Osgoode Township Historical Society & Museum http://www.osgoodemuseum.ca//
Perth Historical Society http://www.perthhs.org/
Pinhey's Point Foundation http://www.pinheyspoint.ca/
Upper Ottawa Valley Genealogical Group (Renfrew, Pembroke, Pontiac)      http://www.uovgg.ca/
Watson's Mill, Manotick http://watsonsmill.com/

ONTARIO HISTORICAL SITES

Ontario Historical Society www.ontariohistoricalsociety.ca
Ontario Heritage Trust http://www.heritagetrust.on.ca/
Ontario Historical Plaques http://ontarioplaques.com
Sparrow Lake Historical Society www.sparrowlake.ca
The Architectural Conservancy of Ontario      http://www.arconserv.ca/

CANADIAN HISTORICAL SITES

Alberta Family Histories Society http://afhs.ab.ca
Canadian National History Society www.canadashistory.ca
Canadian Register of Historic Places www.historicplaces.ca
Early Canadiana Online      http://www.canadiana.ca/en/home
National Trust for Canada https://nationaltrustcanada.ca/
Ottawa Gatineau Geoheritage https://www.ottawagatineaugeoheritage.ca/
Parks Canada http://www.pc.gc.ca or http://www.parkscanada.gc.ca
Virtual Museums of Canada (Canadian Heritage Information Network) http://www.ottawavalleyirish.com/

INDICES TO NEWSPAPER ARCHIVES

The Ancestor Hunt http://www.theancestorhunt.com/blog/ontario-online-historical-newspapers-summary#.WrUUuH9G1xC
Newspaper Project https://newspaperproject2012.files.wordpress.com/2016/04/newspaper-canada-english-only-30apr2016-revision-7.pdf
Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_newspapers_in_Canada
Library and Archives Canada http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/newspapers/newspaper-collection/Pages/indexes-to-canadian-newspapers.aspx
Canadian Historical Newspapers in French https://www.w3newspapers.com/canada/french/


PRESERVATION AND RESTORATION SITES

Canadian Conservation Institute https://www.canada.ca/fr/institut-conservation.html
Edifice Magazine http://historicbuilding.ca/media/edifice-ad-2/
Kyla Ubbink - Book and Paper Conservation http://bookandpaperconservation.com//
Northeast Document Conservation Center      http://www.nedcc.org/
Preservation leaflets https://www.nedcc.org/free-resources/preservation-leaflets/overview



Other sites of Possible Interest

Canada

Mississippi Mills Public Library(Almonte)      http://www.mississippimills.ca/en/live/almontebranch.asp
Cape Breton Genealogy http://www.capebretongenweb.com/
Canada's Historic Places http://www.historicplaces.ca/en/home-accueil.aspx

Great Britain

Black Sheep Records http://www.blacksheepancestors.com/uk/
Abandoned Communities in Great Britain      http://www.abandonedcommunities.co.uk/index.html

Ireland

Online Resources for County Waterford http://waterfordlibraries.ie/online-resources/
General Registry Office, Republic of Ireland      http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/General-Register-Office.aspx
General Registry Office, Northern Ireland https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/
Church Records (Pay site) http://www.rootsireland.ie/
Church Records (Free Site) https://churchrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/
National Library http://www.nli.ie/
Presbyterian Historical Society of Ireland http://www.presbyterianhistoryireland.com
Irish Genealogy News http://www.irishgenealogynews.com/

England

Northwest Kent Family History Society https://www.nwkfhs.org.uk/
United Grand Lodge of England (with links to Masonic lodges throughout the world)      http://www.ugle.org.uk/ and http://freemasonry.london.museum/
Old Names of Streets in London, England http://homepages.gold.ac.uk/genuki/LND/#Gazetteers

Scotland

County Sutherland, Scotland Family History https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=county%20sutherland%20scotland%20family%20history
Old Names of Streets in Glasgow, Scotland http://www.glasgowguide.co.uk/info-streetschanged1.html
Glasgow & West of Scotland Family History Society http://www.gwsfhs.org.uk/
Scottish Genealogy Society http://www.scotsgenealogy.com/
Find Places in Scotland https://scotlandsplaces.gov.uk/
Crann Tara: Preserving the Culture, History, Heritage & Future of Scotland      http://www.cranntara.org.uk/index.html
Ancient Highland Dress | Scottish Tartans Authority http://www.tartansauthority.com
Celtic Magazine - U of Toronto Archives http://www.archive.org/details/celticmagazinemo01inveuoft
The Highland Clearances http://www.theclearances.org/
The Statistical Accounts of Scotland https://archive.org/details/newstatisticalac01edin/a>

Australia

National Library of Australia (newspapers archives, archived websites      https://trove.nla.gov.au/

Other

European Patent Office      http://www.epo.org/searching-for-patents/technical/espacenet.html?hp=stages
Free Patents Online - US Patent Search http://www.freepatentsonline.com/
Local Population Studies http://www.localpopulationstudies.org.uk/
Rudy's List of Archaic Medical Terms http://www.antiquusmorbus.com/
Historic Maps http://www.historicmapworks.com
Historic Maps http://digital.library.mcgill.ca/countyatlas/default.htm
A Guide to Free Genealogical & Family History Literature http://www.homeadviceguide.com/a-guide-to-free-genealogy-family-history-books/
Starting Genealogy https://householdquotes.co.uk/ultimate-genealogy-guide/